View Full Version : Why the spam? Please advise.
ThatDude
10-10-2008, 07:36 AM
I applied for xobni back when it was in beta, and approval was needed. Shortly after I received the invite and tried it out, it was not for me. I use the domain name in emails for the websites I need to register on eg: "xobnicom@domain.tld".
Now my question is why have I been receiving spam email at this email address? Besides the first time when I signed up I have never been part of this community or registered anywhere on the website. Maybe I missed something in your terms and conditions?
I have provided one of maybe 2-3, I receive per month, I don't occasionally check my spam folder in GMail, but this has came to my attention on more than one occasion. What is going on?
http://i34.tinypic.com/dy6uja.jpg
tyler
10-15-2008, 12:43 AM
@ thatdude:
Well I sent you a PM, not sure if you got it or not. In any case, we looked into this situation. Obviously we have zero interest in selling off anyone's email address to spammers, so I can pretty much categorically say that hasn't happened.
We checked our records, and unless you registered for the forum with a different email address than you used to sign up for the Xobni Beta, we have no records of that address on our servers.
The only trace we can find of that email address is in our forum registry. I suppose it's possible that there may be a hole in vBulletin somewhere, but it's not clear. Checking with vBulletin didn't turn up any known leaks / patches, so that's sort of a dead end.
Not sure what else we can really do. Feel free to PM me if you think there is anything else we can do!
Thanks!
ThatDude
10-15-2008, 02:36 AM
Tyler, thank you for your response. Sorry I did not get notified of the PM.
The email address I signed up with for the beta! is the one I am currently using on this board, which as I stated I never signed up here before, so it could not have been from the boards.
With such a popular software you guys have and especially one which interacts with users emails I would certainly hope you guys have high spam protection and privacy policies. I am sure you do ;)
You might want to have a look at the service used for the sign-up that was out for the beta, as I mentioned that's the only time, I ever visited/signed up for your website or service.
I understand this issue can be random and probably isolated but, I have been using the technique of using the sites domain for years, and this will only be the third time only I have stumbled upon this issue. I do it for this very reason.
I hope you guys can get this sorted out and it is not an issue with your other subscribers, good luck!, if you need any information from me I will kindly provide it email me, or post here.
-ThatDude
vBulletin® v3.7.0, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.